UBC Home Page -
UBC Home Page -
UBC Home Page UBC Home Page -
News Events Directories Search UBC myUBC Login
- -
UBC Public Affairs
UBC Reports
UBC Reports Extras
Goal / Circulation / Deadlines
Letters to the Editor & Opinion Pieces / Feedback
UBC Reports Archives
Media Releases
Services for Media
Services for the Community
Services for UBC Faculty & Staff
Find UBC Experts
Search Site

UBC Reports | Vol. 52 | No. 9 | Sep. 12, 2006


Appointed an Officer of the Order of Canada, UBC Prof. Brett Finlay is an international leader in bacterial disease research and is also the UBC Peter Wall Institute Distinguished Professor and winner of the national 2006 Killam Research Prize in the Health Sciences. Finlay has also recently received the Flavelle Medal, awarded by the Royal Society of Canada for an outstanding contribution to biological science.

UBC Chemistry Prof. Emeritus David Dolphin adds the title Officer of the Order of Canada to his 2005 Gerhard Herzberg Canada Gold Medal for Science and Engineering, widely recognized as the country’s most prestigious science award. His groundbreaking achievement is the research that led to the creation of Visudyne™ — the world’s first treatment for age-related mascular degeneration, the most common cause of blindness.

Harvey Thommasen, an Asst. Clinical Prof. in UBC’s Dept. of Family Practice Medicine, has been appointed Member of the Order of Canada. Thommasen has published several research projects on physician retention and burnout/depression in rural BC communities.

The Royal Society of Canada has given the Alice Wilson Award to Asst. Prof. of Physical Therapy Teresa Liu-Ambrose for outstanding academic qualifications entering a career in scholarship and research at the postdoctoral level. Liu-Ambrose’s research interests are in fracture prevention.

- - -  

Last reviewed 22-Sep-2006

to top | UBC.ca » UBC Public Affairs

UBC Public Affairs
310 - 6251 Cecil Green Park Road, Vancouver, BC Canada V6T 1Z1
tel 604.822.3131 | fax 604.822.2684 | e-mail public.affairs@ubc.ca

© Copyright The University of British Columbia, all rights reserved.