Award ante upped

The Michael Smith Awards for Science Promotion have been increased to $10,000 for organizations and $5,000 for individuals and will now be administered by the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council (NSERC).

The first in the new series of competitions for the awards was launched this month. Nomination instructions can be found at

Started in 1994, the awards recognize achievement in developing science ability or encouraging popular interest in science. They are named after Smith, a professor emeritus of Biochemistry, who donated part of his 1993 Nobel Prize money to science promotion activities.

Submissions sought for fiction contest

Prism international, the magazine published by UBC's Creative Writing Dept., is calling for submissions to its 14th Annual Short Fiction Contest. It offers a grand prize of $2,000 and five runner-up prizes of $200 each. UBC alumnus Zsuzsi Gartner, author of All the Anxious Girls on Earth, will be the final judge of the manuscripts.

Entries must be typed and double-spaced on standard white paper, no longer that 25 pages and postmarked no later than Jan. 31. The entry fee is $22 for one story, plus $5 for every additional story.

Entries should be sent to Prism international Fiction Contest, Creative Writing Program, UBC, Buchanan E-462, 1866 Main Mall, Vancouver, B.C. V6T 1Z1.

Call for women of distinction

The YWCA of Vancouver is seeking nominations for the Year 2000 Women of Distinction Awards. The awards recognize women whose outstanding achievements contribute to the community.

Categories include: arts and culture; communication and public service; education, training and development; entrepreneur/innovator; health and wellness; management, the professions and trades; recreation, sport and active living; science, research and technology; voluntary community and humanitarian service; young women of distinction.

ubc is a sponsor of the voluntary community and humanitarian service category.

For a nomination form, please call (604) 895-5767 or visit Nominations must be received by March 1. The awards will be presented May 25.