Two of the province's top young women in science are engineering students in the Faculty of Applied Science.

Rozlyn Bubela, a fourth-year Civil Engineering co-op student, was the undergraduate winner of the 1999 Premier's Awards for Young Women in Science. She collected a $10,000 scholarship as part of the award.

Gloria Wong received the runner-up prize and a $1,000 scholarship. She is a third-year Metals and Materials Engineering co-op student at UBC.

The Premier's Awards recognize outstanding female students from technical disciplines where women are currently under-represented. Scholarship winners must demonstrate strong leadership and research potential. The awards are presented by the B.C. Information, Science and Technology Agency.

Medical Genetics Prof. Michael Hayden, director of the Centre for Molecular Medicine and Therapeutics, has been awarded the 1999 Guthrie Family Humanitarian Award for his clinical and research work in Huntington's Disease.

Hayden is the first Canadian to receive the award which recognizes a scientist, researcher or medical leader who has demonstrated compassion and concern for the care and support of people with Huntington's Disease and their families.

The award is given by the Huntington's Disease Society of America.

Earth and Ocean Sciences Prof. Tom Pedersen has been appointed to a three-year term as chair of the Scientific Steering Committee of Past Global Changes (PAGES), an international scientific body in Bern, Switzerland.

PAGES is a flagship program of the Stockholm-based International Geosphere-Biosphere Program and is charged with co-ordinating and promoting research on the history of climate change on Earth.

Chemistry Prof. Brian James is the recipient of this year's Canadian Catalysis Lectureship awarded by the Chemical Institute of Canada (CIC).

The annual award is given in recognition of leadership in the field of catalysis research in Canada. James's research has focused on hydrogenation and oxidation processes.

James, who has served as a faculty member at UBC for 35 years, was also awarded the 2000 CIC Medal for outstanding contributions to the science of chemistry or chemical engineering earlier this year.

Educational Studies Prof. Daniel Pratt has earned the 1999 Cyril O. Houle Award for his book, Five Perspectives on Teaching in Adult and Higher Education.

The annual award is given to an individual whose book has contributed "significantly to the advancement of adult education as a unified field of study and practice." The panel of five judges was unanimous in choosing Pratt's book.

He is only the second Canadian to win the award, which was presented at the recent conference of the American Association for Adult and Continuing Education in San Antonio, Tex.

Economics Prof. Erwin Diewert has been nominated to a prestigious panel charged with the responsibility of solving an important measurement problem for economic policy-making in the U.S.

Diewert will serve on the Committee on National Statistics Cost-of-Living Indexes Panel Study at the National Academy of Sciences. Diewert is the only member from outside the U.S. on the panel. The academy lists his "unmatched publication record on the topic" in the nomination.