President recognized for community leadership

UBC President David Strangway is this year's recipient of the Vancouver Board of Trade's Community Leadership Award.

The award recognizes his accomplishments during a 12-year term as UBC's 10th president.

The board cited Strangway as having "cemented UBC's role as one of the foremost Pacific Rim universities and established a path of development that will take the campus into the new millenium."

Previous recipients of the award include: the Honourable John Fraser, former speaker of the House of Commons; the Honourable Grace McCarthy, former Socred leader; and Patrick Reid, former commissioner general, Expo `86.